Turn Around and Swim

Life | Lessons | Laughter | Love

What’s In Your Cup? The Best Gifts in Life are Free

Leave a comment

A cup o' sunshine to start your morn.(Picture courtesy of Yahoo images)

A cup o’ sunshine to start your morn.
(Picture courtesy of Yahoo images)

Good morning my sunshines. For those that celebrate Christmas, Merry C-Eve. For those that walk around resembling good old Ebenezer, ba-humbug to you. Yet, just remember, the ghosts of past, present and future are lurking around somewhere waiting to visit if you don’t crack a smile and start eluding some holiday cheer. Please don’t mistake my passion for anger, it’s your day, carry on. Really though, I know Holidays can be a very rough time for many people. I understand. Choose to live your day as you see it best. I don’t judge.

Yet, for me, this is a day of faith, hope and love. A day that gets the engines fired up for the anticipation of a jolly old saint and presents under the tree. The time to share Holiday wishes with loved ones. A day of over consumption of food and red and white liquids. A day I watch through the eyes of my children. A day I will deeply miss loved ones. A day I will desperately try to carry on special traditions. And I emphasize desperately. A day for hosting and toasting and being silly.

That is Christmas. Not the sweater wrapped in tissue, beaming precious metals nor being cordial because it’s a nice thing to do. But celebrating genuinely with those that mean the most. It’s a time of giving and receiving. Giving my children a mother’s unconditional love. Giving my children the opportunities to learn, flourish and grow. Giving them attributes of patience, love and empathy by being a good role model myself. Now why of course they will still receive presents. But I do hope this year I have taught them a little more about giving. That when they give they truly receive. Sometimes more than what they bargain for. More than we all bargain for…

So in my cup today is something rich and creamy. Something homemade with just the right amount of organic sweetness. It’s my guilty pleasure. My morning cup of warmth. It’s even better shared with my boys, straight from a thermos, while cuddling in blankets on a picnic table waiting for a December rarity. 27 degrees will not stop us from enjoying each other’s company while sipping homemade hot cocoa. As we conversed through our yawns and morning sniffles, the air felt refreshing not chilling. We reminisced about the past year and as best as it gets for resolutions, or intentions as I like to call them, when discussing with three little lads under the age of nine.

Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away.

Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away.

Then suddenly the snow started to glisten and the geese became more active. It’s my favorite time of the day. Where eve meets dawn. Then an orange burst of light peeked out over the trees. There we were snuggled up together sipping warmth and watching the first gift of Christmas. As we watched in awe with our little Rudolph noses, the sun welcomed our intrusion and graced us the entire day. The snow was like diamonds. The blanket like tissue paper wrapping up my most precious valuables. The sun rising for us yet another day. These are a few of my favorite “things”. And truly, the best gifts in life are free.

So I raise my cup and wish you and yours all a very Merry Christmas. That you cherish every moment. For those that hurt, that you may find strength within to make it the best day you can despite the hardship and pain. That all cups be filled with a little warmth today. What’s In your Cup on this eve of Christmas? Can you share a little warmth? Can you be open to receiving a little sunshine? Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanzaa, Feliz Navidad and Happy Holidays!

Author: Turn Around and Swim Life | Lessons| Laughter | Love

Here are my little musings about life, lessons, laughter and love and how to face adversity in the most light-hearted and sometimes humorous ways possible. When life hands you lemons...do you make lemonade or throw them at people? It is not what is happening but how you respond to it that makes ALL the difference! You can't get anywhere doing the back float, you have to "turn around and swim!" So dive in and come from a swim! Feel free to come up for air and comment here and there! Oh and while you are here floating around, feel free to join the swim team! Hope you can keep up and if not, just "follow".

Leave a Reply!

