Turn Around and Swim

Life | Lessons | Laughter | Love

The Peacock

Leave a comment

Never really  thought much about this bird.  On occasion, I would see someone walking around with peacock type attire or an accessory but always knew, peacock style is not for me.  Today in yoga, the instructor had us do “peacock pose” at the very end of class.  Now I am sure there is an appropriate yogic term for “peacock pose” but that is irrelevant here. 

The instructor cautioned that if we attempt or accomplish “peacock pose” that we would promise to take it easy the rest of the day. Intrigued I was as after 8 years of yoga, I had never heard of “peacock pose”.  Perhaps the instructor made it up but when he got into this arm only balance pose, I saw the peacock. 

My few attempts did not land me into peacock.  If anything I looked more like road kill.  Yet, all day I was thinking about the peacock.  So, I did a little research.  The peacock has many symbolic meanings in many cultures and in many parts of the world.  I found it fascinating that the yoga version of a peacock claimed to strengthen the digestive system.  I will continue to practice this little peacock every now and then to test the claim. 

But one fact in my research that seemed to hit home was in the Feng Shui symbolism of the peacock.  The peacocks feathers can protect you from disasters and dangers because of the “eyes” of the feathers. My home and office is on the polar opposite of Feng Shui as I unfortunately seem to not know much about the practice.  But, I may be travelling down the path of crystals and entering the same door I came into to soon. 

I love that a peacock can offer protection.  In its magnificent beauty, this bird, can offer some protection?  We all have daily disasters and dangers we face.  Some we avoid, others we approach head on and still others grace our presence but we choose to ignore them. 

Today, I looked like road kill on my yoga mat, gained an appreciation for the peacock, might dabble in Feng Shui and have a new awareness for disasters and dangers.  It is so much easier to avoid them but sometimes we have to fold into a ball like squat, extend out our arms backwards, lay our torso on the back of the arms, lean forward and make like a peacock.  With our 100 eyed tail…look disasasters and dangers...HEAD ON!

http://www.yogawiz.com/yoga-poses/yoga-asanas/peacock-pose.html

Author: Turn Around and Swim Life | Lessons| Laughter | Love

Here are my little musings about life, lessons, laughter and love and how to face adversity in the most light-hearted and sometimes humorous ways possible. When life hands you lemons...do you make lemonade or throw them at people? It is not what is happening but how you respond to it that makes ALL the difference! You can't get anywhere doing the back float, you have to "turn around and swim!" So dive in and come from a swim! Feel free to come up for air and comment here and there! Oh and while you are here floating around, feel free to join the swim team! Hope you can keep up and if not, just "follow".

Leave a Reply!

